The Sushi Saga

Sushi Saga Edison, NJ 12/7/15

We’ve ordered take out from Sushi Saga before, but decided to dine-in since we were having our holiday ‘team’ lunch. How it works at this place is they have two menus; a hot menu and the sushi buffet. We all opted for the sushi buffet option. The process itself seemed pretty straight forward, they provide you with a paper menu and a pen and you mark off the rolls and/or sashimi and the quantity. The price was around 19.99/person (I think).

Sushi Buffet

 As I sat there, sullenly eating my sushi, I started thinking about how bad of a job the staff did with our order. How the hell could they mess this up? Each order was on an individual piece of paper. All you had to do was look at the order, make one roll, and place it on the plate; repeat for the next two and place on the same plate as the first one!!! Instead they looked at the order, made a roll, and placed all rolls on all different plates!!! (How fucking date you!)  It’s not rocket fuckin’ science, you aren’t working to save astronauts stranded in a critically damaged space craft spinning out of control towards almost certain doom (Apollo 13). Apply some tried and true business operations; the assembly line – and Henry Ford the shit out of that sushi process. Assemble the sushi from one paper, and place it all on the same fucking plate. BOOM. Done.

Picture

As I mentioned earlier, I’ve gotten sushi from here before and it seemed a helluva lot fresher when I was paying by the roll instead of a flat price for all I can eat ‘I don’t know what this is’ crap. Some of the sashimi was just fried, rolled balls of I don’t even know what.  I’d order take out sushi from this joint again, but probably won’t ever choose to experience the inability of people to place one order on one plate. Weirdly enough, I did not leave this place satisfied that day, even with the option of unlimited sushi.

Leave a Reply

