Amy’s Got Some Nice Ommy’s

Amy’s Omelet House 10/4/15 – Long Branch, NJ

Sweet Jesus! I wish I had known about this place before a friend moved out of Pier Village in Long Branch. (less than a mile away) I would have spent many a hungover morning waiting outside the doors, holding my head in my hands, moaning in pain until a table was available. This place is the shit when it comes to omelettes. While my fiancé and I were scouting out possible venues to get married we decided to grab some grub so I Googled breakfast joints near me and Amy’s Omelette House was the first to come up. Honestly, I’m surprised we’d never heard of it before. It’s somewhat unique based solely on the insanely large selection of omelettes they list in the menu. The place was packed, but we decided to wait. (I’m usually impatient as shit when it comes to waiting at eateries.) The wait took about 15-20 minutes, but there were plenty of places to sit – inside and out. When I say packed I mean there was a constant stream of customers going in to this place. Mind you it was about 11:30am on a Sunday morning – can’t imagine what the place is like in the summer and don’t want to. The lobby had various games and shit to keep kids occupied during wait times. I gave my fiancé a quarter so she could hop on the spaceship ride and go to the moon. I distracted myself during the wait by staring at myself in a mirror hanging in the lobby, making sure I was looking good.

The combo of watching my future wife enjoy herself on the spaceship ride and staring at myself definitely made the wait short and sweet. Immediately upon sitting down our waitress came over and gave us menus, asked if we’d ever been there before, and proceeded to explain the enormity of the damn menu. If she hadn’t done this I would of sat there perplexed for an extended period of time in a mindless frazzle. I decided to get an egg white omelette with spinach and Swiss cheese, home fries, and corned beef hash. The menu lists a bunch of different ommys, but you can basically build an ommy with anything you want. I say god damn, god damn if it wasn’t a delightful meal. Bottomless coffees (coffee was okay), perfectly seasoned corned beef hash (not too salty) **Salt is one of my worst enemies and it should be yours too**. They also brought us out some rye bread, which I guess comes standard with whatever you order. The menu also had a lunch/dinner section…not sure what that’s like, but am certainly willing to find out.

The service was outstanding. Waitress came over and was very attentive to us. Service was fast and friendly. Amy’s is moderately priced. If you take your wife or significant other to this place you’re most likely looking at a $30 bill. You will not be wasting your money if you eat here. It’s definitely worth it. Not sure about the quality of the ingredients, but everything sure as hell tasted fresh to me. Christ knows they give you enough of it. I brought the leftovers I had to work on Monday and the scavengers in my office were asking what I had. I responded by pulling the Styrofoam container close to me and hissing at them. (Keep your hands off my food you grubby pig guts.) Nothing I could complain about in regards to presentation of food – I mean who gives a crap when you’re hungry? Only thing that I dislike about a place this good (and many other places like this) is the location. It’s almost got that small mom & pop feel to it, but then you realize it’s in a shopping mall which kinda kills the homeliness (?) of the place. I’ve only just discovered Amy’s, so not sure of the consistency factor, but if the crowd is an indication…people friken’ love it. I’m definitely going back.

Leave a Reply

